Curriculum Information

West Kirby School offer a broad and balanced curriculum to suit all needs of our pupils. For further curriculum information please speak to Mrs Wynne, Head of Learning.   

West Kirby School offers a wide range of qualification types which are given by recognised awarding bodies. The available qualifications can be academic, vocational or skills-related and are grouped into levels.

Entry Level Qualifications

These are for pupil who are not yet ready for the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE). Entry Level Qualifications focus on a specific subject or area of learning, allowing the pupil to develop the basic knowledge and skills for work or to continue education.

Level 1, 2 and 3

These are for pupils who enjoy a more practical way of learning. Gaining level 1 is the equivalent of GCSE grades 3, 2, 1 or Grades D, E, f, G.   Gaining a level 2 is equivalent to a GCSE Grade 4, 5 or Grade B, C. Level 3 is equivalent to A Level Standard.

Functional Skills. 

These qualifications which allow the learners to acquire practical skills in English.

GSCEs Qualifications. 

The GSCEs are taken by 14 to 16 year olds. GCSE’s are now graded from 1-9, although in some subjects (Chinese) is graded A-G in Summer 2018. These are assessed by examination at the end of a 2 or 3 year course.  

A and AS Level Qualifications.

These qualifications are intended for pupils who want to gain a deeper knowledge of a particular subject and are usually studied by 16 and 18 years olds who have completed the GSCEs. They are graded A – U.

Exam boards

Examination boards responsible for setting and awarding secondary education level qualifications. We use a variety of exam boards based upon the qualifications offered and the way the subject is assessed to provide the best possible outcomes for our students.


For a list of qualifications available at West Kirby School click here